NotCheapMAKE EVERY CREDIT COUNT
AI VIDEO COST GUIDE

Sora vs Veo vs Kling vs Runway: Real Cost of AI Video Generation in 2026

If you came here to find out whether Sora is worth paying for, here's the short answer: OpenAI's published API discontinuation date has passed, so it is not a sensible choice for a new integration. OpenAI confirms that the Sora web and app experiences ended on April 26, 2026 and lists September 24, 2026 as the API discontinuation date, but its help page still describes the API shutdown in the future tense and does not confirm completion. That leaves three practical contenders for "cheapest AI video generator" as of this writing: Google's Veo (delivered to consumers as Gemini Omni Flash inside the Gemini app and Google Flow), Kling AI, and Runway. We're covering Sora anyway, in full, because people are looking for what replaces it — but nothing below should be read as "go sign up for Sora."

The second thing worth knowing before any price comparison: the developer APIs can be compared in dollars per second, but their available clip lengths and resolutions differ. OpenAI billed the Sora API by the second. Google explicitly publishes Veo 3.1 Gemini API prices per second, while its consumer Flow Credits do not convert to a published cost per video. Kling runs two separate currencies (consumer "Credits" and a developer "Units" system) that don't convert cleanly into each other. Runway publishes a flat credits-per-second rate for its flagship model and lets you buy credits at $0.01 each on its API. We priced a 5-second clip where supported and show Veo's supported clip lengths separately.

Quick Verdict

For anyone starting fresh today, Runway, Kling, and Google's Veo 3.1 all publish developer-facing per-second prices. Veo 3.1 Lite has the lowest listed raw rate here at 720p and 1080p with audio ($0.05 and $0.08 per second), but its Gemini API only generates 4-, 6-, or 8-second clips, and 1080p requires 8 seconds. Standard Veo 3.1 costs substantially more. Runway's own flagship model (Gen-4.5) natively outputs 720p only — its "4K" marketing refers to a separate, credit-metered upscale step, not the model's native resolution — while Kling's flagship (3.0) natively supports 1080p and 4K generation at a published per-second rate. Google's consumer plans include video access as "Flow Credits," but Google does not publish how many credits one video costs, so API prices cannot be treated as consumer-plan prices. If you need commercial usage rights, Kling is the most explicit and restrictive about gating them to paid plans; check Runway's terms directly before relying on its free tier for commercial work.

What Happened to Sora

Sora's discontinuation was announced in two stages on OpenAI's help center. The consumer web and app experience ended on April 26, 2026. OpenAI lists September 24, 2026 as the developer API discontinuation date; that scheduled date has now passed, although the help page still says the API "will be discontinued" and does not confirm whether shutdown has completed. The API offered sora-2 ($0.10/second at 720p) and sora-2-pro ($0.30–$0.70/second depending on resolution, up to 1080p); these are historical rates, not a current buying recommendation. OpenAI's own account of why is limited to a statement that Sora continues only as an internal "world models" research effort; secondary reporting has linked the decision to compute being reallocated toward coding and enterprise products, and to Disney reportedly exiting a content-licensing arrangement around the same time, though neither of those is confirmed in OpenAI's own materials. Every Sora-generated video carried a visible, dynamically moving watermark plus embedded C2PA provenance metadata, with no tier or setting that removed it — and no official page was found describing tiered commercial-use rights before the discontinuation made the question moot. If you have an existing Sora API integration, verify its availability with OpenAI and plan to migrate rather than start a new one.

Current Pricing (Live Platforms Only)

Google Veo / Gemini Omni Flash, consumer access via Google's AI subscription tiers, billed in "Flow Credits":

Google AI planPriceFlow Credits/month
Free$0"Limited access" — no published credit figure
Google AI Plus$4.99/mo200
Google AI Pro$19.99/mo1,000
Google AI Ultra$99.99/mo10,000
Google AI Ultra (higher tier)$199.99/mo25,000

Google does not publish how many Flow Credits one video generation actually costs — its own support documentation says model costs are "evolving fast" and directs users to check the current cost in-product at generation time. That means none of the credit totals above translate into a knowable number of videos per month without testing it yourself.

Kling AI (official international site is now kling.ai; klingai.com redirects there), consumer subscription tiers:

TierMonthly (ongoing)AnnualCredits/month
Basic (free)$0—Unspecified monthly free credits; no daily allowance
Standard$8.80/mo$79.20/yr660
Pro$32.56/mo$293.04/yr3,000
Premier$80.96/mo$728.64/yr8,000
Ultra$159.99/mo$1,429.99/yr26,000
Team$79/seat/mo (or $59/seat annual)$708/seat/yr10,000/seat + 30,000 pooled

As with Google, Kling does not publish an official consumer-app credit cost per clip (e.g., "a 5-second 1080p video costs X credits") on its public pricing pages. Check the cost in the app before choosing a plan.

Runway (runway.com, formerly runwayml.com), consumer subscription tiers:

TierMonthlyAnnualCredits/month
Free$0—125 credits, one-time only, does not renew
Standard$15/mo$12/mo ($144/yr)625
Pro$35/mo$28/mo2,250
Max (current high-volume plan; replaced Unlimited for new signups)$95/mo$76/mo9,500, rolls over 1 month
Team$69/seat/mo$55/seat/mo ($660/seat/yr)6,900/seat, pooled
EnterpriseCustomCustomCustom

Runway publishes an exact, checkable credit cost per generation on its flagship consumer model — see below. Google's separate Gemini API also publishes dollar prices per second for Veo 3.1.

How Each Platform Actually Counts Usage

Runway charges 12 credits per second of video on its flagship Gen-4.5 model — a flat, published rate that makes a 5-second clip 60 credits and a 10-second clip 120 credits, regardless of which subscription tier you're on. Other Runway models have their own published per-second rates (Gen-4 Video Turbo at 5 credits/second, Gen-4 Aleph at 15/second, and so on), and Runway also resells third-party models — including Google's own Veo — through this same credit system on Pro and higher plans. The one thing to know about Gen-4.5 specifically: its native output is 720p only; reaching a higher resolution requires a separate, credit-metered 4K upscale step (unlimited only on Pro, Max, and Team), so "4K" in Runway's marketing is a post-process, not the model's native generation quality.

Kling separates its consumer app (billed in "Credits," cost-per-clip not publicly disclosed) from its developer API (billed in a completely different "Units" currency, at $0.14 per unit for video). On the API, the flagship Kling 3.0 Turbo model with native audio costs 0.8 units/second at 720p ($0.112/second) or 1.0 unit/second at 1080p ($0.14/second) — meaning a 5-second 1080p clip with audio costs exactly $0.70, and a 10-second clip costs $1.40, both real, confirmed, current numbers. The consumer subscription side, frustratingly, doesn't let you do this same math, since the credit-per-video conversion isn't published.

Veo 3.1, on the Gemini API, is explicitly priced per second for successful video generations with audio: Standard costs $0.40/second at 720p or 1080p and $0.60/second at 4K; Fast costs $0.10, $0.12, and $0.30/second respectively; Lite costs $0.05/second at 720p or $0.08/second at 1080p and does not support 4K. These are different model variants, not one interchangeable price. Google's Veo API specifications allow 4-, 6-, or 8-second clips, with 1080p and 4K available only for 8-second clips. Google says a video is charged only if generation succeeds. The consumer Gemini/Flow credit system is separate and still cannot be converted into a published per-video dollar cost.

Same Clip, Different Bill: What a 5-Second Video Actually Costs

Using published rates for supported 5-second clips (Sora prices are historical reference only):

PlatformModelResolutionCost for 5 seconds
Sora API (historical)sora-2720p$0.50
Sora API (historical)sora-2-pro1080p$3.50
Runway APIGen-4.5720p (native)$0.60
Kling APIKling 3.0 Turbo, w/ audio1080p$0.70

The Gemini API cannot generate a 5-second Veo 3.1 clip. For supported durations, its successful video-with-audio costs are:

Veo 3.1 modelDurationResolutionCost
Standard4 seconds720p$1.60
Fast4 seconds720p$0.40
Lite4 seconds720p$0.20
Standard8 seconds1080p$3.20
Fast8 seconds1080p$0.96
Lite8 seconds1080p$0.64

Veo 3.1 Lite has the lowest published per-second API rate in this comparison at 720p and 1080p with audio. Its shortest 1080p output is 8 seconds, so the $0.64 example is not a like-for-like 5-second clip against Kling's $0.70 at 1080p. For a 5-second 720p clip, Runway's listed API cost is $0.60; Veo Lite instead offers a 4-second 720p clip for $0.20. Sora's prices above are historical.

Real-World Scenarios

1. Casual/occasional creator *(a handful of clips a month for social posts)* — Free tiers matter most here, and they're not equivalent. Runway's Free plan gives 125 credits once, not monthly — enough for roughly two 5-second Gen-4.5 clips ever, with no way to buy more without upgrading. Kling's Basic plan renews a monthly (if unspecified) free-credit allowance, which suits ongoing light use better even without a published number. Google's free Gemini app access is similarly described only as "limited," with no published figure. For genuinely occasional use, Kling's monthly-renewing free credits are the more sustainable free option of the three.

2. Full-time content creator *(MODELLED: roughly 20 five-second clips a month for regular social/video output)* — On Runway, 20 Gen-4.5 clips at 60 credits each requires 1,200 credits/month, which exceeds Standard's 625 and requires Pro ($28–35/month, 2,250 credits) with real headroom left over. On Kling, without a published consumer credit-per-clip figure we can't compute this precisely — the honest, MODELLED estimate is that Standard-to-Pro ($8.80–$32.56/month) is the right range to budget for, but you should verify actual burn rate against your own generations before committing to a tier. Google's $19.99 AI Pro plan lists 1,000 monthly Flow Credits and bundles other AI features (chat, storage, Gmail/Docs integration), but the actual number of videos those credits buy is not disclosed, so this volume cannot be costed from the sticker price alone.

3. Heavy commercial/agency use *(MODELLED: roughly 200 five-second clips a month for client work)* — This is where the subscription-vs-API crossover becomes the real decision. On Runway, 200 clips at 60 credits each is 12,000 credits/month — beyond even the Max plan's 9,500, requiring either supplemental credit purchases or a Team plan. But priced directly through Runway's API instead of a consumer plan, the same 200 clips cost 200 × 5 seconds × $0.12/second = $120/month in pure marginal cost — cheaper than most of the subscription tiers that would otherwise be needed, provided you're comfortable integrating against an API rather than using the consumer app. The same logic applies to Kling: 200 clips at $0.70 each via the API is $140/month, again potentially undercutting a consumer subscription tier at this volume. At genuinely high volume, going straight to the API is frequently the cheaper path on both platforms — a real, calculable finding, not a marketing claim.

4. Developer integrating video generation into a product — Kling, Runway, and Veo 3.1 have published API pricing that can be modeled by the second. For Veo, choose Standard, Fast, or Lite and account for its allowed clip lengths and 8-second minimum at 1080p/4K. Do not base a new integration on Sora's API; OpenAI's published discontinuation date was September 24, 2026.

Hidden Costs and Value

The single biggest hidden cost across this category in 2026 is that two of the three surviving platforms don't tell you what a video actually costs in their own consumer currency. Runway is the exception — 12 credits/second on its flagship model is a number you can plan around. Google and Kling both ask you to generate first and find out. That's a meaningful "real cost" problem for anyone trying to budget a content calendar.

The second hidden cost is watermarking policy, and it varies more than you'd expect. Runway and Kling both watermark free-tier output and remove it on any paid tier. Google's approach is different and arguably more permanent: Veo/Omni Flash output carries an invisible SynthID watermark on every tier, including the most expensive Ultra plan — there is no way to pay Google to remove it, because it isn't a visible branding mark, it's an embedded provenance signal Google applies universally (with an additional visible watermark forced on for users in India, South Korea, and Vietnam regardless of subscription).

The third is Runway's plan transition: the legacy Unlimited subscription is no longer offered to new subscribers (since June 1, 2026). Eligible existing subscribers can keep that plan through November 30, 2026, after which Runway says it will transition them to Max; Max is a different plan with 9,500 monthly credits and no Explore Mode. Runway's separate Unlimited Mode remains available on supported models for eligible Pro and Max sessions, so it should not be confused with the legacy Unlimited subscription.

The fourth is resolution marketing versus reality: Runway's Gen-4.5 is frequently discussed as a top-tier model, but it natively generates at 720p — anything higher goes through a separate, credit-metered upscale. Kling's 3.0 line, by contrast, natively supports 1080p and 4K generation at directly higher (but transparent) per-second rates. If resolution matters to your use case, this is a real cost difference, not just a spec-sheet one.

Commercial Usage Rights

This is the least consistent area across the three live platforms, and it's worth checking directly before you build a business around any of them. Kling is the most explicit: its official terms state paid subscribers may use, reproduce, distribute, and create derivative works from generated content commercially, provided that content doesn't compete with Kling itself — and its comparison table explicitly denies commercial-use rights to free-tier users. Runway's official help-center "Usage rights" page states, without a stated free-vs-paid distinction, that content generated is yours to use "without any non-commercial restrictions" — which conflicts with some third-party legal summaries claiming Runway's free tier is non-commercial-only. Check Runway's Terms of Service, not just the help-center FAQ, before relying on free-tier output for commercial use. Google's Flow documentation states only that Google doesn't claim ownership of your output and points to its general Terms of Service — no Flow-specific, tier-differentiated commercial license was found.

Affiliate and Referral Programs

Runway stands out here with a genuine, currently active cash-commission affiliate program: $15 flat per new paid subscriber referred, uncapped, paid monthly via Stripe, plus a 25% discount for the referred customer and a free Runway Max plan for the affiliate while active. It also runs a separate, non-cash referral program (1,000 credits to both parties after two consecutive months of paid subscription). Kling runs an official cash-commission affiliate program too, paid out through Impact (impact.com) — but the commission percentage itself is not publicly disclosed and appears to be revealed only after application. Google has no cash affiliate program covering Flow, Gemini Omni, or the Google AI Plus/Pro/Ultra tiers that gate video credits — its only genuine cash affiliate program covers Google Workspace business plans, explicitly excluding the consumer AI subscriptions; Google AI Pro/Ultra subscribers get only a non-cash refer-a-friend credit mechanism. OpenAI/Sora has no consumer affiliate or referral program of any kind — an informal referral-for-extra-generations feature appears to have existed at one point but its help-center page now returns a 404, consistent with the broader Sora wind-down.

When Runway Is Cheapest

Runway is straightforward to budget at native 720p, including for 5-second clips, or with a separately priced upscale step. Veo 3.1 Lite's published 720p rate is lower per second, but only its supported 4-, 6-, or 8-second clips can be generated.

When Kling Is Cheapest

Kling offers native 1080p and 4K generation at a published API rate, with a 5-second 1080p example in this comparison. Veo 3.1 Lite is cheaper per second at 1080p but requires an 8-second clip; Veo Standard and Fast can generate 4K, while Lite cannot. Kling's consumer subscription tiers have the least expensive sticker prices of the three at comparable credit volumes, assuming your actual per-clip credit burn turns out to be reasonable once tested.

When Google (Veo/Omni Flash) Is Cheapest

On the Gemini API, Veo 3.1 Lite has the lowest listed 720p and 1080p per-second price among the models compared here, provided its supported 4-, 6-, and 8-second durations suit your work. On the consumer side, Google's $4.99–$19.99 entry subscriptions bundle video with Gemini chat, storage, and productivity tools, but undisclosed Flow Credits per video prevent a reliable video-only cost comparison.

Final Decision Table

If your priority is…Choose
Lowest listed API rate per second at 720p or 1080pVeo 3.1 Lite; 1080p requires an 8-second clip
A 5-second API clip at a known costRunway (720p) or Kling (1080p); Veo 3.1 offers 4, 6, or 8 seconds only
Native 4K at a published API rateKling or Veo 3.1 Standard/Fast; not Veo Lite
Bundled into an AI subscription you already wantGoogle AI Plus/Pro (video is a bonus, not the main cost driver)
Real cash affiliate income if you're promoting a toolRunway ($15/subscriber, uncapped)
Building a new product integration todayCompare Runway, Kling, and Veo 3.1 API prices and supported clip lengths; do not start on Sora
Migrating an existing Sora integrationBenchmark Runway, Kling, and Veo 3.1 against your required duration and resolution

Final Verdict

The honest 2026 answer to "cheapest AI video generator" starts by treating Sora as a historical option: OpenAI's published API discontinuation date has passed, though its help page does not confirm shutdown completion. Among current developer options, Runway, Kling, and Veo 3.1 all let you calculate cost from published rates. Veo 3.1 Lite is cheapest per second at 720p and 1080p in this comparison, but its duration rules matter; Kling offers a published 5-second 1080p example and 4K support, while Runway's Gen-4.5 is straightforward to budget at native 720p. Google's consumer Gemini/Flow subscriptions remain harder to evaluate for video alone because their Flow Credit cost per video is not published. Compare the output length and resolution you actually need, not just a headline subscription price.

For the general economics of paying for an AI subscription versus its API, see ChatGPT API vs Plus and Hidden Cost of AI Subscriptions. If you're also evaluating Google's broader AI subscription tiers (the same Plus/Pro/Ultra plans that gate Flow video credits), see ChatGPT Plus vs Claude Pro vs Google AI Pro.