NotCheapMAKE EVERY CREDIT COUNT

Papaya Global vs Deel vs Rippling: Real Global Payroll Cost per Employee in 2026

DIRECT ANSWER

Short answer

Papaya Global's own reported EOR pricing shows a genuine, unresolved conflict across sources checking its pricing page at different points in 2026 — one August 2026 source reports $499/employee/month, while several sources dated earlier in the year report $650–770/employee/month, a gap wide enough that this likely reflects a real mid-year price change rather than simple source error, though this article cannot confirm which figure is current with full confidence. Deel's EOR rate is confirmed and stable at $599/employee/month (Standard, annual billing). Rippling doesn't compete directly on EOR pricing at all — it's quote-only and reported at an estimated $499–599/employee/month, but Rippling's real strength and lower real cost shows up specifically for companies that already own legal entities and need HRIS-plus-payroll administration rather than EOR liability transfer.

Pricing at a glance

Papaya GlobalDeelRippling
EOR (no local entity)Reported inconsistently: $499/employee/month per one August 2026 source claiming to check Papaya's published page directly, versus $650–770/employee/month per several other 2026 sources — a genuine conflict that remains unresolved in available pricing evidence$599/employee/month (Standard, annual, confirmed), from $899/month (Enterprise)Quote-only; reported estimate $499–599/employee/month
Global Payroll (entity already owned)$25–29/employee/month, reasonably consistent across sources$29/employee/monthNot sold as a distinctly named "Global Payroll" product — priced as modular HRIS-plus-payroll instead
Contractor managementReported inconsistently: $5/contractor/month per one recent source, versus $30/contractor/month per an earlier-dated source$49/contractor/month, confirmed directly on Deel's own pricing pageNot a core Rippling product in the same standalone form
Payments/cross-border transaction fee$2.50–3.50/transaction, reportedNot itemized as a separate per-transaction product in the same wayNot applicable
Security depositRoughly two months of gross salary per employee, reportedOne month of gross salary per employee, reportedNot specifically reported
Setup/entity feesPer-country setup fees reported, not publicly disclosedNot itemized as a separate line item in available sourcesReported implementation fees of $1,500–20,000, scaling with company size and complexity
Country coverage160+ countries, reportedBroad, exact figure not confirmed in available sourcesBroad, exact figure not confirmed in available sources
Core HRIS/domestic platformPayroll-and-EOR-centric; not positioned as a broad HRIS platform the way Rippling isNot Deel's primary product$8/employee/month plus a $35/month flat base fee — Rippling's actual core strength, for companies with existing entities

A genuine, unresolved pricing conflict worth stating plainly: multiple 2026 sources, each claiming to reference Papaya Global's own published pricing page, report EOR rates that differ by over $150/employee/month ($499 versus $650–770). Given the more recently dated source reports the lower figure, this may reflect a real price reduction implemented partway through 2026 — but this article cannot confirm that with confidence, and presents both figures rather than picking one.

What headline pricing excludes

None of the three platforms' EOR or Global Payroll fees include the employee's actual salary, employer tax contributions, or benefits — the per-employee rate is the service charge for payroll administration or employer-of-record liability transfer, not the employee's total cost, and salary/tax/benefits are typically the larger part of the total by far.

Papaya's real total cost is reported to run meaningfully above its headline per-employee rate once several specific add-ons are counted. Benefits administered through Papaya (health insurance, retirement plans) are reported to carry a 10–15% markup over the base plan cost. Certain countries — Brazil, India, and parts of the Middle East are specifically named — carry higher compliance costs that Papaya is reported to charge as separate add-ons, in the range of $100–300/employee/month on top of the base per-employee fee. One detailed source estimates that visa sponsorship, benefits, and one-time setup fees together could push a single EOR employee's annual cost above $95,000, well beyond the base monthly rate alone.

Rippling's Global Payroll equivalent for owned entities is structurally cheaper than Papaya's or Deel's per-employee rate, but requires stacking Rippling's own modular pricing rather than buying one named product. A company with existing entities pays Rippling's base HRIS fee plus its Payroll module fee separately — together landing meaningfully below Papaya's or Deel's dedicated Global Payroll rate in some comparisons, but only for companies willing to adopt Rippling's broader platform rather than a narrower payroll-specific tool.

Papaya's own comparison materials note that its Global Payroll product ($25/employee/month) undercuts Deel's equivalent ($29/employee/month plus a reported $1,000 per-entity setup fee) — at 50 employees across 5 entities, this is reported to represent a combined annual saving of roughly $2,400 in per-employee fees plus $5,000 in avoided setup fees when choosing Papaya specifically for this owned-entity use case, separate from any EOR consideration.

Hidden costs

  • Papaya's security deposit, reported at roughly two months of gross salary per employee, is meaningfully larger than Deel's reported one-month deposit — a real, quantifiable cash-flow difference for a company onboarding many employees at once through either platform.
  • Country-specific compliance surcharges on Papaya ($100–300/employee/month for certain high-complexity jurisdictions) are not disclosed on Papaya's general pricing page and only become visible once specific countries are named in a quote — a real budgeting risk for a company assuming a flat per-employee rate applies uniformly across all target countries.
  • Rippling's implementation fees ($1,500–20,000, reported) scale with company size and complexity — a real, one-time cost that doesn't appear in any per-employee monthly rate, and that neither Papaya's nor Deel's per-employee pricing structure carries in quite the same explicit way.
  • Papaya's per-country setup fees exist but are not publicly disclosed — a company expanding into a new country through Papaya should request this figure explicitly for each specific jurisdiction rather than assuming it's included in the base per-employee rate.

Worked scenarios

25 international employees across 3 countries (no existing local entities — EOR scenario)

Estimated annual cost (platform fee only, before salary/tax/benefits)
Papaya Global (lower reported rate)25 × $499 × 12 = $149,700/year
Papaya Global (higher reported rate)25 × $650–770 × 12 = $195,000–231,000/year
Deel EOR (Standard)25 × $599 × 12 = $179,700/year
Rippling EOR (reported estimate)25 × $499–599 × 12 = $149,700–179,700/year

At this scale, if Papaya's lower reported rate ($499) is the currently accurate one, it would be the cheapest of the three; if the higher reported rate ($650–770) is current instead, Papaya would be the most expensive by a wide margin — this genuine uncertainty is the single most consequential fact for any company sizing up Papaya specifically at this scale.

250 employees across 10 countries

Estimated annual cost (platform fee only)
Papaya Global (lower reported rate)250 × $499 × 12 = $1,497,000/year
Papaya Global (higher reported rate)250 × $650–770 × 12 = $1,950,000–2,310,000/year
Deel EOR (Standard)250 × $599 × 12 = $1,797,000/year
Rippling EOR (reported estimate)250 × $499–599 × 12 = $1,497,000–1,797,000/year

At this scale, country-specific compliance surcharges become a genuinely material factor — if even 2–3 of the 10 countries fall into Papaya's higher-complexity surcharge category (reported at $100–300/employee/month extra), the real total could climb substantially above even the higher reported base-rate scenario above.

2,500 employees across 20+ countries

At true enterprise scale, none of the three vendors' reported or confirmed per-employee list rates should be expected to apply without substantial negotiated discounts — all three are reported across the broader EOR/global-payroll category to offer meaningful volume-based reductions at this scale, and no reliable enterprise-scale figure is publicly available for any of the three. A company at this scale with a substantial number of owned entities among its 20+ countries should also model Rippling's or Papaya's Global Payroll (owned-entity) pricing separately from its EOR pricing for countries without an existing entity. Combining the two service types would badly misstate total cost: Global Payroll (roughly $25–29/employee/month) and EOR ($499–770/employee/month, depending on which reported Papaya figure applies) differ by an order of magnitude and cover fundamentally different services.

Normalizing across billing units

This article deliberately keeps three service categories separate rather than blending them: Global Payroll (administering payroll for employees on an entity the company already owns, roughly $25–29/employee/month across the vendors compared here), EOR (the vendor acts as legal employer where the company has no entity, roughly $499–899/employee/month depending on vendor and which reported Papaya figure applies), and HRIS (Rippling's broader per-module platform pricing, which is a different product category from either of the other two). Comparing an EOR fee against a Global Payroll fee as though they were the same service would overstate the apparent cost gap between vendors by roughly 20-to-30-fold, when in fact the two are simply not the same purchase.

Break-even and crossover

The clearest calculable finding in this article is not a cross-vendor crossover but an internal one: Papaya's own reported pricing shows what may be a real, substantial rate reduction sometime during 2026 — from a $650–770/employee/month range reported by several sources earlier in the year to a $499/employee/month figure reported by an August 2026 source. A company evaluating Papaya today should request current, written pricing directly rather than relying on any single reported figure in this article, given how much this range has apparently moved within a single year. Separately, for the owned-entity Global Payroll comparison specifically, Papaya's reported $25/employee/month figure is confirmed to undercut Deel's $29/employee/month plus its reported per-entity setup fee, a real and specific saving at moderate entity counts.

Who pays more, and when

  • A company needing EOR coverage and prioritizing Deel's confirmed, stable pricing has the most certainty of the three, given Deel's $599/employee/month rate is directly confirmed rather than subject to the reporting conflict affecting Papaya.
  • A company evaluating Papaya Global for EOR specifically should treat the pricing conflict in this article as a reason to get a current, written quote before budgeting, rather than relying on any secondhand figure — the gap between the two reported ranges is too large to plan around without direct confirmation.
  • A company with existing entities in most of its target countries should evaluate Papaya's or Rippling's Global Payroll/HRIS-plus-payroll pricing specifically, not EOR pricing from any of the three vendors — the cost difference between these two service categories is an order of magnitude, and using EOR pricing for an owned-entity scenario would badly overstate real cost.
  • A company operating in high-compliance-complexity countries specifically named by Papaya (Brazil, India, parts of the Middle East) should budget for reported surcharges of $100–300/employee/month on top of whichever base EOR rate applies.
  • A company wanting a broader HRIS platform alongside payroll, not just payroll or EOR in isolation, is the buyer profile Rippling is built for, and its modular pricing may undercut Papaya's or Deel's dedicated payroll products for a company willing to adopt Rippling's wider platform.

Limitations and uncertainty

Deel's EOR and Global Payroll pricing is confirmed directly from Deel's own official pricing page. Papaya Global's EOR pricing shows a genuine, substantial conflict across sources ($499 versus $650–770/employee/month) that remains unresolved in public reporting; the more recently dated source's lower figure may reflect an actual 2026 price change rather than an error. Papaya's Global Payroll and contractor-management figures also show some spread across sources, though narrower than the EOR conflict. Rippling does not publish EOR pricing at all; the $499–599/employee/month figure used here is a third-party estimate, not a published rate, and Rippling's core strength — its per-module HRIS-plus-payroll pricing for owned entities — is confirmed only for its base $8/employee/month-plus-$35-base-fee tier, with broader module pricing estimated from third-party sources rather than fully published.

Official sources

  • deel.com/pricing (confirmed)
  • papayaglobal.com/pricing (confirmed structure, though specific EOR dollar figures show genuine conflict across independent sources checking this page at different points in 2026)
  • rippling.com/pricing (Core HR and Payroll confirmed; EOR and broader module pricing not published, drawn from third-party estimates)