Rippling vs BambooHR vs HiBob: Real AI HR Software Cost per Employee
Short answer
Rippling publishes only two prices officially — Core HR at $8/employee/month plus a $35/month base fee, and Payroll at $8/employee/month annual or $10/employee/month monthly — and its real cost climbs fast once modules stack: most businesses paying for HR and payroll together report $25–50/employee/month, with IT automation pushing that past $60. BambooHR is reported to cost roughly 3–4 times less than Rippling for comparable basic HR-and-payroll functionality, at $10–25/employee/month; its current public pricing does not independently corroborate that reported tier structure. HiBob, at a reported ~$16/employee/month, sits between the two and is positioned specifically for globally distributed, culture-focused companies rather than as a direct price competitor to either.
Pricing at a glance
| Rippling | BambooHR | HiBob | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Public rate card | Partial — only Core HR ($8 PEPM + $35/month base) and Payroll ($8–10 PEPM) are officially published | No — BambooHR is quote-based; reported at $10–25/employee/month across three tiers, plus a new mid-market "Elite" package; its current public pricing does not corroborate those figures | No — quote-based, though consistently reported around $16/employee/month |
| Minimum | Not separately reported | $250/month minimum for small teams; companies under 25 employees pay a flat monthly rate rather than per-employee | Not reported |
| HR+Payroll bundle (illustrative, 50 employees) | Reported at approximately $2,185/month | Reported at approximately $575–650/month | HiBob's payroll is newer (see below) and not typically bundled into the same comparison at this point |
| Native payroll | Yes, and a core part of Rippling's platform strategy | No, in most markets | Newly launched — UK/Ireland payroll via the 2024 Pento acquisition; US payroll (powered by Gusto's engine) launched September 2025, with general availability from January 2026 |
| Native IT management | Yes — device management, app provisioning, access control; a genuine differentiator versus both competitors | No | No |
| Positioning | Broad platform for tech-savvy, growth-oriented companies wanting to eliminate HR/IT/finance silos | Best for small businesses and startups, historically under roughly 350 employees, now extending into mid-market via the new Elite package | Best for globally distributed companies (100–1,500 employees) prioritizing employee engagement, culture, and people analytics |
| Median contract value | Reported around $40,000/year (Vendr) | Not found as an aggregate figure | Not found as an aggregate figure |
What headline pricing excludes
Rippling's headline $8/employee/month figure is only the Core HR platform — a mandatory foundation, not a usable HR-and-payroll solution on its own. IT Management (estimated $8–20/employee/month, not officially published) and Finance modules (estimated $10–15/employee/month, not officially published) are both separate add-ons requiring a custom quote. A platform that looks like $8/employee can become $25/employee once payroll and basic HR modules are added, and $60 or more once IT automation is included.
BambooHR's reported per-tier pricing is described as including automatic volume discounts above 25 employees, which the flat small-team rate doesn't reflect — a company should model its actual expected per-employee rate at its real headcount rather than assuming the top-of-range $25/employee/month figure applies uniformly.
HiBob's payroll capability is genuinely new, and its pricing relative to a full HR-plus-payroll bundle isn't yet well-established in public sources the way Rippling's or BambooHR's bundled pricing is — a company evaluating HiBob specifically for its new US payroll capability (generally available since January 2026) should treat this as an emerging, less-benchmarked cost category compared to the company's more mature core HR pricing.
Hidden costs
- Rippling's modular add-on structure means "the base cost rarely tells the full story," per multiple independent sources — each additional module (payroll, benefits, time tracking, IT) compounds the per-employee rate, and a company should model its full expected module stack before comparing Rippling's $8/employee headline against BambooHR's or HiBob's more consolidated pricing.
- BambooHR's implementation fee is reported at 5–15% of annual software cost — a real, separate one-time cost on top of the ongoing per-employee subscription.
- A discontinued competitor's pricing gap is reshaping this market in real time: Freshworks' bundled ATS product, Freshteam, halted renewals in March 2026, and companies migrating away from it are reported to most often land on BambooHR as the closest feature match for basic HR-admin use cases — a genuinely current market dynamic worth knowing if evaluating alternatives to a discontinued product.
- Rippling's recruiting add-on and IT modules both compete against more specialized, often cheaper dedicated tools — one source notes that dedicated AI-powered recruiting tools offer more advanced sourcing and outreach capability than Rippling's built-in ATS add-on, at substantially lower cost, for a company whose primary need is recruiting rather than broad HR-IT-finance consolidation.
Worked scenarios
25 employees
| Estimated monthly cost | |
|---|---|
| Rippling (Core HR + Payroll + time tracking) | Reported roughly $375–625/month |
| BambooHR | 25 × $10–25 = $250–625/month, though the flat small-team rate structure may apply differently right at this threshold |
| HiBob | 25 × ~$16 = ~$400/month (HR-focused; native payroll not typically included in this figure) |
At this scale, all three land in a broadly overlapping range, and the choice is more likely to hinge on which specific modules (native payroll, native IT, culture/engagement tools) the company actually needs than on price alone.
100 employees
| Estimated monthly cost | |
|---|---|
| Rippling (HR + Payroll stacked, using the reported $25–50/employee/month realistic range) | 100 × $25–50 = $2,500–5,000/month |
| BambooHR | 100 × $10–25 = $1,000–2,500/month, likely toward the lower end once volume discounts apply |
| HiBob | 100 × ~$16 = ~$1,600/month |
This is the scale where the gap between Rippling's stacked-module cost and BambooHR's more consolidated tier pricing becomes clearly visible — a company at 100 employees needing full HR-plus-payroll functionality is likely to pay meaningfully more on Rippling than on BambooHR for broadly comparable core HR administration, though Rippling's native IT management has no equivalent on either competitor.
500 employees
| Estimated monthly cost | |
|---|---|
| Rippling (HR + Payroll stacked) | 500 × $25–50 = $12,500–25,000/month; adding IT automation (reported $60+/employee/month) would push this toward $30,000+/month |
| BambooHR | 500 × $10–25 = $5,000–12,500/month, though BambooHR's traditional positioning targets companies under roughly 350 employees, making its fit and effective rate at this size less certain without a direct quote |
| HiBob | 500 × ~$16 = ~$8,000/month — squarely within HiBob's stated 100–1,500-employee sweet spot |
At this scale, HiBob's positioning aligns most directly with the company size in this scenario, while BambooHR is reaching toward the upper edge of its traditional target market (mitigated somewhat by its new mid-market-oriented Elite package) and Rippling's stacked-module cost is likely the highest of the three for comparable core HR-and-payroll functionality, offset by its unique native IT management capability if that's genuinely needed.
Normalizing across billing units
Rippling's modular, stack-as-you-go pricing and BambooHR's and HiBob's more consolidated tier pricing represent different philosophies rather than simply different numbers. A fair "per employee" comparison requires specifying an identical module set across all three — HR administration alone, HR plus payroll, or HR plus payroll plus IT — since Rippling's headline $8/employee figure describes a narrower scope than BambooHR's or HiBob's tier pricing typically implies.
Break-even and crossover
The clearest reported relative fact in this category: Rippling costs 3–4x more than Gusto or BambooHR for basic HR-plus-payroll functionality, according to multiple independent sources — a reported $2,185/month for Rippling versus $575–650/month for BambooHR at 50 employees for comparable functionality. This gap is specifically attributed to Rippling's broader platform scope (IT management, finance tools, more extensive automation) rather than to equivalent features being priced differently — a company that doesn't need Rippling's IT and finance capabilities is very likely overpaying relative to BambooHR for the HR-and-payroll functions the two share.
Who pays more, and when
- A small business or startup wanting straightforward HR administration with solid support and a clean employee experience is well-served by BambooHR's lower reported cost and reported tier structure.
- A tech-savvy, growth-oriented company wanting to eliminate HR, IT, and finance silos in one platform is the buyer profile Rippling is built for, and its reported premium over BambooHR reflects that broader scope rather than the same HR functionality priced higher.
- A globally distributed company with 100–1,500 employees prioritizing culture, engagement, and people analytics is HiBob's stated sweet spot, and its newly launched payroll capability (UK/Ireland since 2024, US since January 2026) may make it increasingly competitive for companies that previously needed a separate payroll vendor alongside HiBob's core HR strengths.
- A company migrating away from Freshworks' discontinued Freshteam product is reported to most commonly land on BambooHR as the closest feature match for basic HR-admin needs — a specific, current market dynamic worth knowing given Freshteam's March 2026 renewal halt.
- A company evaluating Rippling specifically for its recruiting add-on should compare it against dedicated AI-powered recruiting tools, which are reported to offer more advanced sourcing capability at substantially lower cost for recruiting-specific needs.
Limitations and uncertainty
Rippling officially publishes only its Core HR and Payroll pricing; every other module's cost (IT management, finance, benefits) is estimated from third-party research rather than confirmed on Rippling's own site, and actual module pricing requires a custom quote. BambooHR's tier pricing is reported consistently across multiple sources but is described as quote-based rather than a fixed published rate card, and its new Elite package's specific pricing was not found. HiBob does not publish pricing at all; its reported ~$16/employee/month figure and the $9,600/year illustrative annual figure for a 50-person company are drawn from third-party analysis rather than an official rate. HiBob's new US payroll pricing, launched with general availability in January 2026, is too recent to have well-established independent benchmark data at the time of this article's research.
Official sources
- rippling.com/pricing (Core HR and Payroll pricing only; other modules require a custom quote)
- BambooHR and HiBob do not publish complete public rate cards; figures in this article are drawn from multiple independent third-party pricing analyses