NotCheapMAKE EVERY CREDIT COUNT

Perplexity Pro vs ChatGPT Plus 2026: Real Cost

DIRECT ANSWER

Short Answer

Perplexity Pro and ChatGPT Plus are both $20/month, but they've been drifting apart on what "$20" actually buys. ChatGPT Plus's limits have been loosening: as of an August 2026 update, everyday text chat has no fixed message cap on any ChatGPT tier including Free — but this is not unconditional "unlimited" access. OpenAI's own framing is that plain chat is flat-priced and uncapped in message count while still remaining subject to usage caps on specific tools (reasoning tiers, images, voice, files), general availability, and its acceptable-use policy. The old per-window message cap most existing "ChatGPT limits" content still describes no longer applies to plain chat, but "no message limit" is not the same claim as "no limits at all," and this article treats the two separately throughout.

Perplexity's pricing page (perplexity.ai/hub/pricing) lists the current plan structure and contains an inconsistency. Pro ($20/month) is described as including "Deep research," "Expanded Computer access" and 4,000 bonus [Computer] credits — but the page does not state a specific number of Deep Research queries anywhere. The Free-plan card says "Good for limited daily usage," while the FAQ on the same page says "Free includes access to the top AI models with limited weekly usage." The published page does not reconcile these different reset cadences.

Separately, a dated usage-tracking source reports Perplexity cut Pro's Deep Research allowance from roughly 500 queries/day to about 20/month in a single day in February 2026, described by the company as "adjusting to allocate more compute per session." Normalized to the same unit, 500/day is roughly 15,000/month — so if accurate, the reported change is a reduction of about 99.87% (20 ÷ 15,000), not the ~95% figure a naive day-to-day comparison might suggest. The same window reportedly halved Labs from 50 to 25 monthly runs and capped previously-unlimited file uploads at 50/week. Perplexity's current pricing page does not publish a specific Deep Research number that would confirm or contradict this figure; it describes Pro's access qualitatively. The reported cut therefore remains unconfirmed by the current plan page.

What each plan includes:

Perplexity Pro ($20/mo)ChatGPT Plus ($20/mo)
Deep ResearchIncluded, qualitatively described; no number publishedSeparate allowance, exact count not published by OpenAI
Computer/agentic credits4,000 bonus credits includedN/A - no equivalent named allowance
Everyday chat/searchSonar family + selectable third-party models; "Get answers from the web" (limited on Free, described only relatively on Pro)Uncapped-message-count GPT-5.6 Sol text chat on Plus, according to OpenAI's help center; Luna powers Free/Go, not Plus
File uploads10 files/prompt, ~50/week cap (reported)80 uploads/3hr, 20 files/project, 512MB/file, 25GB storage (reported)
Reasoning/advanced modelFull Sonar family + frontier model picker; premium data sources (PitchBook, Statista) shown for ProMedium/High reasoning on GPT-5.6 Sol, not Extra High or Pro
Research organizationSpaces, up to 50 files/Space (reported)Projects, 20 files/project (reported)
Agent-style features400+ app connectors, Comet Agent - both described only as "limited" on Free with no Pro number givenShared Work/Codex allowance is metered separately from chat, according to OpenAI's help center

Current Pricing / Product Map

Perplexity Pro — (perplexity.ai/hub/pricing, Sept 22, 2026): $20/month, described on the pricing page as: "Expanded Computer access, 4,000 bonus credits, Deep research, Access to top AI models, Select between AI models, Create polished documents & apps, More usage limits and memory." The comparison table on the same page confirms, relative to Free: "Get answers from the web" is 10× on Pro; file uploads and asset generation are each 10×; Pro gets "Preferred model selection" and access to "the highest level of access" among models; Comet Agent is 10×. The 4,000-credit figure cross-validates cleanly against Perplexity's own confirmed Computer-credit rate of 100 credits = $1: 4,000 credits × $0.01 = $40, matching the "~$40 value" figure previously carried as a secondary estimate — now primary-confirmed. Perplexity's own FAQ, on the same page, states: "Free includes access to the top AI models with limited weekly usage" — while the Free plan's own card, on the same page, says "Good for limited daily usage." This is a direct, current, primary-source internal contradiction on Perplexity's own site.

Perplexity Free: $0/month — "Search only with accurate answers and citations... Good for limited daily usage, Better for simple questions, Citations in every answer, Access to basic AI models."

ChatGPT Plus — $20/month. vendor-listed (help.openai.com, GPT-5.6 and GPT-6 Pro article): GPT-5.6 Sol powers Instant and the Thinking options on Plus; Terra and Luna are not selectable in standard chat (they're available in Work/Codex and via the API); "Free and Go users have unlimited everyday text chats... [and] separate limits continue to apply to file uploads, image generation, voice, data analysis, and other tools" — the same unlimited-chat framing applies to Plus and above. Plus gets Medium and High reasoning on GPT-5.6 Sol, not Extra High or the Pro-tier models.

Normalization Method

MODELING ASSUMPTION: since neither vendor publishes a single stable per-query cost at this tier (both use rolling windows, tool-specific allowances, or compute-based quotas rather than a flat message price), this article models four user scenarios against each plan's structural limits — the things that actually cap a workflow — rather than computing a dollar-per-query figure that neither product supports.

Workload Tables / User Scenarios

Casual researcher (a handful of substantive queries per week)

Neither plan's limits are likely to bind at this volume. Free tiers on both products may be sufficient — Perplexity Free's ~3 Pro Searches/day and ChatGPT Free's unlimited Luna-model chat likely cover this profile without paying for either Pro tier.

Student / content researcher (daily research, occasional Deep Research use)

This is where the reported Deep Research cut matters most directly, if accurate. A single dated secondary source puts the current Pro allowance at ~20 Deep Research queries/month (reported, not confirmed on Perplexity's own current pricing page — which describes Deep Research access qualitatively with no number at all). If that figure is accurate, a student running even one Deep Research query every weekday would exhaust the allowance mid-month. ChatGPT Plus's research-style deep-dive allowance is similarly not published as a fixed number in the cited plan information. Neither platform publishes a number here, which is itself the finding: a student choosing between the two cannot budget Deep Research volume with confidence on either service, and should test actual usage against the live account rather than trusting any published figure — including the ~20/month one this article cites only as a flagged, unconfirmed data point.

Small business operator (file-heavy work, moderate daily volume)

File-handling limits diverge in shape, not just size. Perplexity Pro's reported 10-files-per-prompt cap (with a ~50/week overall ceiling per one source) forces splitting larger document sets across multiple prompts or pre-merging files; ChatGPT Plus's 80-uploads/3-hour rolling window with a 20-files-per-project cap is a different kind of constraint — generous on raw upload count, but boxed by the project structure. Neither is simply "more generous" than the other; they fail differently depending on whether the workflow is many-small-files or few-large-files.

Heavy daily search user

ChatGPT Plus's uncapped-message-count everyday text chat (as of the August 2026 change) removes the main volume constraint for pure chat-style use — the caps that remain (reasoning-tier, file uploads, voice) are secondary to daily volume for most users, though ChatGPT Plus is still flat-priced subject to usage caps, availability, and policy limits, not a blanket guarantee. Perplexity Pro's core Pro Search function is not reported as capped in the same way, but the combination of a heavily-cut Deep Research allowance and a weekly file-upload ceiling means a genuinely heavy daily user is more likely to hit some Perplexity Pro limit than some ChatGPT Plus limit, based on the evidence gathered here — though unpublished ChatGPT Plus reasoning-tier caps could still bind first for a reasoning-heavy rather than search-heavy workflow.

Hidden Costs / Limits

  • Perplexity's Deep Research cut was reportedly not announced by email — one source describes users discovering the new ~20/month cap via an in-product pop-up with no prior warning, which matters for anyone budgeting a workflow around the older, much larger allowance still described in a lot of existing marketing and third-party content.
  • "Unlimited" claims need reading carefully on both products. Perplexity's own enterprise/plan-comparison materials reportedly describe Max as "unlimited" for the same features Pro now caps sharply (per one source) — the free-vs-paid gap within Perplexity's own lineup widened considerably in the same window Pro's limits tightened.
  • ChatGPT's "unlimited chat" doesn't mean unlimited everything. Reasoning-tier messages (Medium/High on GPT-5.6 Sol), image generation, voice, data analysis and Work/Codex usage all carry separate, largely unpublished caps on Plus — "unlimited" applies specifically to plain-text Instant chat.
  • Rolling windows, not daily resets, on the ChatGPT side. A cap like "80 uploads per 3 hours" resets continuously as older uploads age out of the window, not at a fixed clock time — this changes how a workflow should be paced compared to a simple daily quota.
  • Perplexity's per-prompt file cap (10 files) is easy to work around by merging files first, per user-reported workarounds, but that's a manual step neither plan's pricing page tells you about upfront.

FAQ

Is Perplexity Pro still worth $20/month for research? Its Sonar-model access, third-party model picker and premium data sources (PitchBook, Statista) are confirmed directly on Perplexity's own pricing page. Deep Research is included but its exact volume is no longer published in numbers — a single secondary source reports a cut from roughly 500/day (≈15,000/month) to about 20/month in February 2026, a reduction of roughly 99.87% if accurate, which the current Perplexity plan information does not confirm or refute. Anyone choosing Pro specifically for heavy Deep Research use should verify the current allowance directly before subscribing.

Does ChatGPT Plus have a message limit? Not a fixed count for everyday text chat, as of an August 2026 change — that applies to Free and Go too. ChatGPT Plus is flat-priced but still subject to usage caps, availability, and policy limits: reasoning tiers, file uploads, image generation, voice and other tools all carry separate, largely unpublished caps.

Which has better file-upload limits? They fail differently: Perplexity Pro's 10-files-per-prompt cap suits few-large-files workflows poorly; ChatGPT Plus's 20-files-per-project cap (inside an 80-uploads/3-hour window) suits many-small-files workflows better, per the evidence gathered here.

Can I do serious Deep Research on either plan for $20/month? Neither OpenAI nor Perplexity currently publishes a specific number for this on their own pricing pages — Perplexity's page describes Deep Research access qualitatively only. A single secondary source puts Perplexity's current allowance at roughly 20/month; treat that as an unconfirmed data point, not a fact, and verify directly if this feature is the reason for choosing a plan.

Does Perplexity's own pricing page agree with itself? Not entirely — the Free-plan card says usage is limited "daily," while the FAQ on the same page says Free has limited "weekly" usage. The pricing page itself contains both statements; neither resolves the contradiction.