Harvey vs CoCounsel vs Lexis+ AI: Real Legal AI Cost per Lawyer in 2026
Short answer
None of the three big enterprise legal AI platforms publishes a clean, complete rate card, but they're not equally opaque. Thomson Reuters' CoCounsel has some real, checkable numbers — a self-serve "CoCounsel Legal" line with published tiers, and configurator-based bundle pricing when paired with Westlaw. Harvey and Lexis+ AI are both genuinely quote-only, with every dollar figure in circulation for them coming from reported deals, practitioner write-ups, and firms comparing notes — not from either vendor's own pricing page. Harvey's reported pricing is dramatically higher than CoCounsel's published tiers at mid-market scale, but the gap reportedly narrows sharply at Am Law 100 volume.
Pricing at a glance
| Harvey | CoCounsel (Thomson Reuters) | Lexis+ AI | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Public rate card | None — fully quote-only | Partial — a self-serve "CoCounsel Legal" line is reported as published, though not every source agrees a clean public page exists; Westlaw-bundle pricing is obtainable through Thomson Reuters' own online configurator | None — fully quote-only |
| Reported/estimated entry cost | ~$1,000–2,000/seat/month at mid-market scale (multiple independent third-party reports) | ~$75–500/user/month self-serve, reportedly across five tiers | Base Lexis research seat estimated near $171/month; full AI (Protégé) bundle estimated at $250–500/seat/month — neither figure is LexisNexis-published |
| Confirmed configurator example | N/A | A solo attorney on Westlaw Advantage with CoCounsel Essentials, all-states-plus-federal coverage: $639.20/month on a 1-year term, $519.35/month on a 3-year term (pulled directly from Thomson Reuters' own online configurator) | N/A |
| Seat minimum | Reportedly around 20 seats for standard deals | Not reported as having a hard minimum for the self-serve line | Not reported |
| Contract length | Typically 12 months, reported | Varies — 1-year and 3-year terms both appear in the Westlaw configurator example above | Not reported |
| LexisNexis/add-on integration | Reportedly adds $400–600/seat/month (roughly a one-third increase) in some reports, though other reports describe the Lexis-bundled seat as roughly double the base price — the two accounts don't agree | N/A | N/A — this is the native Lexis product |
| High-volume/Am Law 100 pricing | Reportedly drops to $100–200/seat/month above roughly 100 seats | Not separately reported at this scale | Not reported at this scale |
A real, unresolved conflict worth stating plainly: reports disagree on how much Harvey's LexisNexis integration adds to the base seat price. Some sources describe it as a $400–600/seat/month addition (about a one-third increase over the reported ~$1,200 base). Other sources describe a Lexis-bundled Harvey seat at roughly $2,400/month — close to double the reported base. Both accounts appear in credible-seeming secondhand reporting; neither is confirmed by Harvey directly, and this article isn't picking one over the other.
What headline pricing excludes
Every number above for Harvey and Lexis+ AI is reported, not official — none of it traces back to a published rate card from either vendor. Treat every Harvey or Lexis+ AI figure in this article, and everywhere else, as what firms have said they were quoted or charged, not as a price you can expect to receive unchanged.
CoCounsel's underlying legal-content subscription is often separate from the AI layer itself, even where CoCounsel has some published pricing. A firm not already on Westlaw is pricing two things — the base research subscription and the CoCounsel AI layer on top of it — and the combined number is frequently reported as $300–700+/user/month once both are stacked, well above CoCounsel's own standalone published range.
Harvey's reported pricing reflects "software plus high-touch forward-deployed services," according to multiple reports — meaning the reported $1,000–2,000/seat isn't purely a software license fee; it reportedly includes a level of vendor-side implementation and support that a pure SaaS comparison wouldn't capture.
Hidden costs
- Custom fine-tuning on Harvey is reported at roughly $50,000–150,000, with the largest bespoke model builds reported to run into seven figures — this is squarely a reported/third-party estimate, not a published rate, but it appears consistently enough across sources to be worth budgeting around if custom fine-tuning is part of the plan.
- Premium support on Harvey is reported at roughly 18% of the annual license fee — another reported figure, not an official rate.
- Renewal uplifts of 10–25% are reported as common across the legal AI category generally, often with no contractual cap unless a firm specifically negotiates one — a firm that doesn't push for a renewal cap in its initial contract may see meaningful, uncapped price growth in year two and beyond.
- Volume discounts reportedly begin above roughly 100 seats for Harvey specifically, which is the reported mechanism behind the dramatic mid-market-to-Am-Law-100 price gap — smaller firms are reported to pay up to 10x more per seat than the largest firms for functionally the same product.
Worked scenarios
Given how much of this pricing is reported rather than official, every figure below should be read as a range grounded in third-party reporting, not a quote.
Solo or boutique lawyer
| Estimated monthly cost | |
|---|---|
| Harvey | Harvey's reported deal structure and seat minimum (~20 seats) make it economically impractical for most solo/small firms |
| CoCounsel (Westlaw configurator example) | $639.20/month (1-year term) or $519.35/month (3-year term) for a solo attorney on Westlaw Advantage with CoCounsel Essentials and full state-plus-federal coverage — this is a real, confirmed configurator output, not an estimate |
| Lexis+ AI | Estimated $250–500/month for the full AI-enabled bundle (third-party estimate; not LexisNexis-published) |
At solo scale, Harvey's reported deal structure and seat minimum make it economically impractical for most solo/small firms, leaving CoCounsel and Lexis+ AI as the more realistic options — and CoCounsel's number here is one of the few genuinely confirmed figures in this entire article.
10-lawyer firm
| Estimated annual cost (10 seats) | |
|---|---|
| Harvey | Reported ~$1,000–2,000/seat/month × 10 seats × 12 months = $120,000–240,000/year (reported range; likely to also run into Harvey's seat-minimum territory, which may push the effective per-seat cost up if the firm is below Harvey's typical minimum deal size) |
| CoCounsel (self-serve tiers) | Reported $75–500/user/month × 10 × 12 = $9,000–60,000/year, or considerably more once Westlaw is bundled in, per the $300–700/user/month all-in figures reported elsewhere |
| Lexis+ AI | Estimated $250–500/seat/month × 10 × 12 = $30,000–60,000/year (third-party estimate) |
At this scale, Harvey's reported pricing is dramatically higher than either research-incumbent's AI offering — a firm this size considering Harvey should expect to be paying several times what a CoCounsel- or Lexis+-based alternative would cost, according to the available third-party reporting.
100-lawyer firm
| Estimated annual cost (assume 30 seats licensed, a commonly reported adoption pattern rather than full-firm licensing) | |
|---|---|
| Harvey | Reported $1,000–1,500/seat/month × 30 × 12 = $360,000–540,000/year before implementation and training, per multiple converging third-party reports |
| CoCounsel/Westlaw bundle | Reported $300–700/user/month all-in × 30 × 12 = $108,000–252,000/year |
| Lexis+ AI | Estimated $250–500/seat/month × 30 × 12 = $90,000–180,000/year |
At Am Law 100 scale specifically (typically hundreds of seats, not 30), Harvey's reported per-seat price is said to drop to $100–200/seat/month — at that scale and seat count, Harvey's reported total cost can become competitive with, or even cheaper than, the CoCounsel/Westlaw bundle's premium tiers, a genuine reported crossover worth knowing about if a firm is large enough to reach it.
Break-even and crossover
The one calculable, well-corroborated crossover in this category: Harvey's reported volume discount above roughly 100 seats. Below that threshold, Harvey is reported to be several times more expensive per seat than CoCounsel or Lexis+ AI. Above it, Harvey's reported $100–200/seat/month can approach or undercut the premium end of a CoCounsel-plus-Westlaw bundle. This means firm size, not feature preference, may be the single biggest driver of which platform is actually the better financial choice — a genuinely large firm faces a different economic calculus than a mid-market one, even considering the identical product.
Who pays more, and when
- A solo or small firm should look at CoCounsel or Lexis+ AI first — Harvey's reported deal structure and seat minimum make it economically impractical for this segment regardless of feature preference, though this reflects reported deal-making patterns rather than a hard, confirmed rule Harvey enforces.
- A mid-market firm (roughly 10–75 lawyers) faces the starkest reported price gap in this category: Harvey's reported cost can run several times higher than a CoCounsel- or Lexis+-based alternative for what may be overlapping capability, depending on the firm's actual workflow needs.
- A large firm approaching or exceeding 100 seats may find Harvey's reported volume pricing genuinely competitive with, or cheaper than, the premium tiers of the Thomson Reuters or LexisNexis ecosystems — this is the one scenario where Harvey's headline reputation for being expensive may not hold up against reported numbers.
- A firm already deeply invested in Westlaw or Lexis has a real switching-cost argument for staying within that ecosystem's AI layer rather than adding Harvey as a third, separate platform and vendor relationship.
Limitations and uncertainty
This is a genuinely quote-only category for two of the three vendors compared here. Every Harvey and Lexis+ AI dollar figure in this article is a reported or third-party-estimated number, not an official price, and firms should expect their own quotes to differ — potentially substantially — from any figure here. CoCounsel occupies a middle ground: some sources describe a published self-serve rate card, others say no clean public pricing page exists, and this article has not resolved that disagreement in either direction. The one number in this entire article that can be called genuinely confirmed, rather than reported or estimated, is the solo-attorney Westlaw-plus-CoCounsel configurator output ($639.20/month on a 1-year term), because it was pulled directly from Thomson Reuters' own online pricing tool rather than secondhand.
Official sources
- Thomson Reuters' online CoCounsel/Westlaw pricing configurator (the source of the one confirmed figure in this article)
- No official pricing pages exist for Harvey or Lexis+ AI at the seat level; all other figures in this article are reported or third-party estimates, sourced from multiple independent practitioner and industry write-ups, none of which individually constitutes an official vendor source